PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Nvidia Video Card Drivers causing problems.

trevzilla
May 14th, 2010, 11:30 PM
First off, I am a complete noob to Ubuntu. So far, I love what I see, but I am running into some video card driver issues that I hope to get resolved.

Here is the info that terminal gave me on the video card I have installed.

02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation NV25 [GeForce4 Ti 4400] (rev a2)

I've been to System->Admin->Hardware Drivers, and it looks for the drivers. It finds a proprietary driver. But as soon as I activate this proprietary driver, when I reboot I am only given the option of displaying a resolution of 640x480 and no higher. When the driver is not activated, my resolution is 1024x768. The problem is, when the driver is not activated, any video I try to watch is extremely jerky.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get a working driver installed for my video card?

And as one last request, any instructions you give, please make them nice and easy to understand...Like I said, I'm a noob and haven't quite learned my way around Ubuntu yet.

Thank you so much!
Trevor

themusicalduck
May 15th, 2010, 12:03 AM
How are you trying to change the resolution?

Normally it should detect it correctly, but to change any settings when using the nvidia drivers, you need to run nvidia-settings.

Press alt+f2 and type
gksu nvidia-settings (you need to run it as root so that you can save your configuration and have it load right every bootup.)

Hopefully there will be an option to set it to the right resolution there.

trevzilla
May 15th, 2010, 06:52 PM
I was trying to change the resolution by going to System->Preferences->Monitors.

When I do that, I get an error message that says:
"It appears that your graphics driver does not support the necessary extensions to use this tool. Do you want to use your graphics driver vendor's tool instead?"