PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 10.04: login failure (mouse & keyboard locked); network failure.

Garry_L
May 14th, 2010, 10:24 PM
I have had, & still have, problems.

I am a GUI user. I can run command-line, but I only know & understand a few commands, so I can only run other commands when I find them on the forum (etc.) or someone tells me what to do. So, in many ways, I am a newby with Ubuntu, in spite of lots of usage.

I have been using Ubuntu for over 4 years now, usually upgrading a month or so after a new release. However, since I had an easy upgrade to 9.10 last year, I decided to upgrade to 10.04 ~ 1 week after release (07/05/10). I downloaded the alternate CD, as I have been able to pass that on to friends with even less download capability than me.

The install went reasonably well. I did not take the option to include updates at the same time.

I did accept to allow the upgrade tool to delete all suggested files (I don't know what most of them were for, but I was happy to get rid of a lot of old kernels, etc.). This deletion may have been the reason for my subsequent problems.

When I booted & had problems, I thought that the missing updates would help, so allowed those to be installed (this was later, after I managed to boot using fail-safe). It didn't solve the problems. 2 are listed below:

1. Now when I boot using the current kernel, I get the following:

When it reaches the login screen, I get either of the following:
. A locked screen with no mouse or keyboard capability. So I press & hold the start button for 6 seconds to stop the PC.
. The screen is not initially locked, but after I select my user & try to enter my password, It either locks up as above or it keeps looping through saying the user/PW combination is not valid (sometimes filling the PW line with dots).

Once, it worked perfectly!?

So, from then on, I booted using the fail-safe mode.