PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu won't boot properly

BobbyDing
May 14th, 2010, 06:03 PM
Hi folks.
Linux newbie here. Very green.

I have been having issues installing ubuntu. The machine has an Asus MB A7V8X-X with 1gb ram, Geforce 400 MMX video card, Standard EIDE and PCI busses, 20gb HD. The machine runs XP just fine. I actually have two of these machines that are identical with the exception of the drive brands. I have tried both drives.

After installing ubuntu (tried 9.04 thru 10.04 so far, all with the same issue) I can reboot (warm boot) and all is fine. However, cold boots yield the following errors:

udevadm settle - timeout of 180 seconds reached, the event cue contains:
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:0011.1/host/target0:0:0/0:0:0:0/block/sda (755)
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:0011.1/host/target0:0:0/0:0:0:0/block/sda/sda1 (756)
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:0011.1/host/target0:0:0/0:0:0:0/block/sda/sda2 (757)
/sys/devices/pci0000:00/0000:0011.1/host/target0:0:0/0:0:0:0/block/sda/sda5 (75

Gave up waiting for root device. Common problems:
- boot args (cat /proc/cmdline)
- Check rootdelay= (did the system wait long enough?)
- Check rootdelay= (did the system wait for the right device?)
- Missing modules (cat /proc/modules; ls /dev)
ALERT! /dev/disk/by-uuid/96b486e8-1df5-4e2b-bb21-5968015f6ad8 does not exist.
Dropping to shell!

Busybox V1.13.3 1:1.13.3-1ubuntu7) built in shell (ash)
Enter 'help' for list of built in commands.

(initramfs)

I can type 'exit' after a while (10 minutes) at the initramfs prompt and it will eventually boot. The screen does continue with other errors after the initramfs prompt, and I have to wait for those to complete (something about 'ata1: link is slow to respond, please be patiet'). All seem to be failures with drive access.

I've searched these forums and found similar issues and tried these fixes.....Adding 'rootdelay=90', as well as the one in this link which has me re-installing grub...