PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu Upgrade?

mclizardman24
May 14th, 2010, 03:45 PM
Hi, everyone. I am running Ubuntu 9.10, and heard that tehre is a new one out. Do I have to request anotehr CD, or will Ubuntu aoutmatically upgrade, or something like that. I am really new to everything Linux and just got the 9.10 version. Thanks.

DougieFresh4U
May 14th, 2010, 03:47 PM
Hi, everyone. I am running Ubuntu 9.10, and heard that tehre is a new one out. Do I have to request anotehr CD, or will Ubuntu aoutmatically upgrade, or something like that. I don't know, will it? lol, thank anyway.

You could open 'Update Manager' and see if it is offering upgrade
System>Administration>Update Manager

uRock
May 14th, 2010, 03:54 PM
You can upgrade using the update manager by clicking the button highlighted in the screenshot. I would back up important data first.

mclizardman24
May 14th, 2010, 05:32 PM
You can upgrade using the update manager by clicking the button highlighted in the screenshot. I would back up important data first.
Just to make sure, im running a dual boot (not a full partition) with windows 7. That won't affected it, right?

dalee
May 14th, 2010, 05:36 PM
Just to make sure, im running a dual boot (not a full partition) with windows 7. That won't affected it, right?

Hi,

No it shouldn't affect your Win7 install.

Good Luck!

dtmbmw325i
May 14th, 2010, 05:39 PM
Make sure you also run any updates sitting in the queue before running a distribution upgrade. I think people have bad experiences when they don't. These issues would only be with the linux side but would probably cause the need for a fresh install.

mclizardman24
May 14th, 2010, 06:30 PM
Hi,

No it shouldn't affect your Win7 install.

Good Luck!