PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] brand new install and no internet



Vschiffy
May 14th, 2010, 07:03 AM
Hello everyone, this is my first post ever :)

I'm brand new to Linux, got Ubuntu on my laptop yesterday and I just finished putting Ubuntu on my desktop.

My laptop is able to wirelessly connect to my network just fine, but my wired desktop fails to provide an internet connection...

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Here is the output of 'ifconfig' :

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1b:b9:64:5c:ff
inet addr:192.168.1.105 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::21b:b9ff:fe64:5cff/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:249 errors:320 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:320
TX packets:239 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:42154 (42.1 KB) TX bytes:33815 (33.8 KB)
Interrupt:19 Base address:0xdead

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:12 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:720 (720.0 B) TX bytes:720 (720.0 B)

devilized
May 14th, 2010, 07:09 AM
That's an awful lot of errors received - try a new cable

Vschiffy
May 14th, 2010, 07:14 AM
Okay, I replaced the ethernet cable with a brand new one I had in storage, no dice.

Might I add that when I boot my desktop into Windows 7 I am able to access the internet just fine...

Sealbhach
May 14th, 2010, 07:19 AM
Hi,
please show us


lshw -C network

.

Vschiffy
May 14th, 2010, 07:29 AM
Hi,
please show us


lshw -C network.


Here you go!

WARNING: you should run this program as super-user.
*-network
description: Ethernet interface
product: 191 Gigabit Ethernet Adapter
vendor: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS]
physical id: 4
bus info: pci@0000:00:04.0
logical name: eth0
version: 02
serial: 00:1b:b9:64:5c:ff
width: 32 bits
clock: 33MHz
capabilities: bus_master cap_list ethernet physical
configuration: broadcast=yes driver=sis190 driverversion=1.3 ip=192.168.1.105 latency=0 multicast=yes
resources: irq:19 memory:f9ffcc00-f9ffcc7f ioport:dc00(size=128)

Sealbhach
May 14th, 2010, 07:48 AM
Not good news about this particular ethernet adapter that you have. There's been problems with it for years, though it had been fixed in recent kernels, but the problem seems to have come back.

There's a bug report here about it:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/345374

A workaround that some people report to have worked is to change the MTU to 1492.

You can try this by right-clicking on the network icon, select Edit Connections, choose Wired, click on eth0, click on Edit, change MTU from Automatic to 1492 and click Apply.

Give it a try and see what happens.

.

Skrynesaver
May 14th, 2010, 07:48 AM
My laptop is able to wirelessly connect to my network just fine, but my wired desktop fails to provide an internet connection...


How did you set up the network on your wired system. (ie. is external access specific to the computer name of the laptop under Win7)

Vschiffy
May 14th, 2010, 07:58 AM
Not good news about this particular ethernet adapter that you have. There's been problems with it for years, though it had been fixed in recent kernels, but the problem seems to have come back.

There's a bug report here about it:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+bug/345374

A workaround that some people report to have worked is to change the MTU to 1492.

You can try this by right-clicking on the network icon, select Edit Connections, choose Wired, click on eth0, click on Edit, change MTU from Automatic to 1492 and click Apply.

Give it a try and see what happens.

.
YES! Epic win!

That worked perfectly! Thanks a lot!

Sealbhach
May 14th, 2010, 08:02 AM
YES! Epic win!

That worked perfectly! Thanks a lot!

That's great! For the record, can you do


uname -a

in a terminal so we know which kernel you're using?

.

Vschiffy
May 14th, 2010, 08:19 AM
That's great! For the record, can you do


uname -a

in a terminal so we know which kernel you're using?

.
Sorry for the slow reply, was having way too much fun on my desktop :)

Here is what you requested:
Linux vittorio-desktop 2.6.32-21-generic #32-Ubuntu SMP Fri Apr 16 08:10:02 UTC 2010 i686 GNU/Linux