PDA

View Full Version : A new type of "crossover" help Linux-to-Linux

eurgain
March 21st, 2006, 11:49 PM
Hi

I have been working with Unix-like systems since 1986, and with Linux-based systems since kernel 2.0.something, in the 1990s. However, as far as Linux is concerned, I mainly have worked with RPM-based systems; RedHat 5, and from then on SuSE.

I now have a couple of laptops running Ubuntu, but I also have several other machines still running SUSE, to their disadvantage, I believe.

The reason I have not switched is to do with being unsure of how to manage some administrative tasks. Maybe I am immagining it, but SuSE seems much nearer to my old SysV experience than "DeUbuntu".

With the superb work that the Ubuntu team has done, I expect that many users frrom distros Fe..,Red...,SuS..,Man..., will be converting, but they will be presented with many unfamilliar software management tools. From the simple world of YaST, I have found the apt* and dpkg* family quite a challenge!

So, as a suggestion: we have had many documents trying to get MS users over to our (i.e. Linux users') cause, so how about a document that can help RPM-based admins migrate to the DEB-based world, that includes Ubuntu?

A

BluGold
April 13th, 2006, 04:20 PM
Hello eurgain, Good point! Can I expand on that? :-k

I also have been into UNIX since the early 80's. Still have a couple of ATT 3b1's laying around. AKA UNIX PCs.:shock:

ALL new adventures have terms and verbiage that is unfamiliar at the beginning. Translating that into working functions in the brain can be very trying.](*,)

I'd like to suggest (and have been in various froms [and forums]) a means to accomplish it.:-k

That evolution (revolution) or steps to get there is now at:

First: a dictionay/glossary as in 'man [option]' or 'dic [option]' OK 'glo [option]'.