PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] compiz problem, any help ?

Mr_Yaser
May 11th, 2010, 05:25 PM
i am new in Linux , and i just installed ubuntu 10.04 on my hp pavilion dv6. After installing compiz, i can't see a shortcut for it in System>>Preferences. Anyway, when i try to type compiz in the terminal i grt this outpot.

compiz (core) - Fatal: Root visual is not a GL visual
compiz (core) - Error: Failed to manage screen: 0
compiz (core) - Fatal: No manageable screens found on display :0.0

Launching fallback window manager
Window manager warning: Received a _NET_WM_MOVERESIZE message for 0x4a00081 (Synaptic P); these messages lack timestamps and therefore suck.
Window manager warning: last_focus_time (4936319) is greater than comparison timestamp (4936262). This most likely represents a buggy client sending inaccurate timestamps in messages such as _NET_ACTIVE_WINDOW. Trying to work around...any idea how to solve this problem ?
thanx in advance

proggy
May 11th, 2010, 06:40 PM
sudo apt-get install compizconfig-settings-manager
It should now be in Preferences

Mr_Yaser
May 11th, 2010, 10:45 PM
thanx a lot , that work for me
now i can open compiz, but the problem now is, when i activate any compiz function, it want to change any thing, in other words, the compiz functions don't work probably, (((don't work at all)))

i asked about the problem, and i knew that i have to go to appearance >> visual effects & activate it, but when i try to do so, i got an error message says: "Desktop effects could not be enabled"

how can solve this problem ?

proggy
May 11th, 2010, 11:26 PM
You need to get the drivers for your graphics card.
You didn`t mention what card you had .
Some older cards don`t render compiz very well

Mr_Yaser
May 11th, 2010, 11:45 PM
thanx for the replay

my graphic card is an ATI Radeon HD 4650 [ 1GB dedicated ]

anyway, i found in System >> Prefrances >> ATI catalyst control center
but when i try to open it i got this message