PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Grub cmd prompt appears on boot

garethinbendigo
May 11th, 2010, 05:13 AM
Two days ago I decided to migrate from Fedora to Ubuntu 10.04. On the Ubuntu install I chose to format the entire disk as I do not want a dual boot system. I have three disks and have set the bios to boot from dvd, then main disk, then 2nd disk, then any other bootable drive and coming from a working Fedora I know I have my "slaves" and "Master" pin positions on the disks set correctly.
When I try to boot the fresh install of Ubuntu I do not see any menu options, no boot image nothing, I get taken immediately to a grub command window and I dont know how to fix things from there.
I have tried to fix things by booting into the "try before you 'buy'" thing on the installation cd and I can see that Ubuntu has been installed on the main disk, but all in all Im stuck.
Ive seen many posts on dual boot systems but nothing specific to my inquiry. If you have an idea on fixing through grub or via the preview on install disk please let me know.
Thanks for any help.

Gareth

garethinbendigo
May 11th, 2010, 11:42 AM
Ok I half solved my problem. At least I should be able to poke around the actual operating system more now that I can boot into Ubuntu.
Firstly I pulled out my IDE cable containing my other two additional hard drives and did a complete format and reinstall of my main h/drive. When I went to reboot things were even worse such that I couldnt press 'i' to bring up any boot options and I was being directed to grub command line instantly. So I inserted the install disk and pressed 'i' again and this time a list of options was presented i.e. Try....Install....Check media...etc.
I tabbed down to the Install option and noticed boot parameters near the bottom of my screen. I removed all boot parameters and enter the following parameters:

boot=(hd0,1) splash--