PDA

View Full Version : Thank You to the Ubuntu Team!

fowl
May 8th, 2010, 02:50 PM
I would just like to take a moment to say thank you to all who have dedicated hours into the Ubuntu project. I have used Ubuntu off and on since i first heard about it a few years ago. I am an average nix newbie and have had a few issues overtime with both Ubuntu and Kubuntu. I am not a genius by far haha but i have been able to work out most of my problems with a trusty internet connection and the guides and forum posts i have seen.

The latest version 10.4 Lucid Lynx has met every expectation i have ever wanted out of an operating system. I can now easily stream video and music files all over my house. I have a PS3, Xbox, Laptop, Modded Xbox and my trusty Desktop all in different rooms. The integrated (Looks to be to me anyway) Facebook, Yahoo and the like into the OS from boot is nice. I do not have to load anything. I am sure there are others out there that are FB junkies like myself.

There are too many things i use and have fun with to list. I will simply say that with all of the features and ease of use finally poking in (like running something haha, you have no idea how hard it used to be for me to figure out!) and the great customizations of the desktop environment itself.

Hats off to you all and i truly thank you,

Jason Fowler

elessar78
May 8th, 2010, 02:57 PM
I'll second that. I'm new to Ubuntu as well, but a long time Linux and Unix user. My wife got a new laptop and I took her old laptop and converted it to Ubuntu. I love it. I read the long note yesterday from the guy who tried Windows 7 and his exasperation with it. If I truly had a replacement for Photoshop (tied gimp and gimpshop but it's not the same) and Adobe Lightroom I would be switching my desktop to Ubuntu as well.

Thanks to all the dedicated individuals who put in long hours working on this operating system and for Lucid Lynx as well.
Regards,
Elessar

fowl
May 8th, 2010, 03:05 PM