PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Dual boot problem--where's my options?

tarahmarie
May 7th, 2010, 08:04 PM
Hi!

Ok, so I decided to get brave and install Mandriva on the 10GB partition I'd been saving up for a rainy day. Mandriva uses KDE by default, so while I mounted the /home, I created a new username so that I wouldn't nuke my current Lucid Kubuntu settings. It's all good; my data from my other username is in /home and I do like Mandriva. Here's the issue.

My Mandriva install is at / in the extra partition I created when I partitioned this drive. Kubuntu is my default OS, and when I installed it, I mounted this extra partition at /altos so I could look at it (I presume when I boot back into Kubuntu that all the Mandriva goodness will be there for me to poke about in as well).

Where is my boot option? I am not good with the Grub--why don't I have an option to boot into Kubuntu or Mandriva? Mandriva is playing like it's my default OS; I never see an option to boot into Kubuntu. Do I need to edit my Grub?

I'm going to cross post this at the Mandriva forum too--maybe they know what up.

Thanks!

oldfred
May 7th, 2010, 09:43 PM
Usually the last install takes over control of the MBR unless you specify as part of the install. What boot loader does Mandriva use?

Ubuntu with grub2 finds other installs very easily, but you would have to reinstall grub to the MBR. You may be able to add Ubuntu entries to Mandriva's boot but if you used EXT4 not all grub legacy (0.97) versions support it.

How to restore the Ubuntu/XP/Vista/7 bootloader (Updated for Ubuntu 9.10)
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1014708

tarahmarie
May 11th, 2010, 09:00 PM
I have found and successfully configured grub from within Kubuntu. Now, I have multiple boot entries in the grub menu. Kubuntu boots just fine (it lives on partition sda6), but Mandriva will not boot (it lives on sda7).