PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Windows 7 dual boot with 8.10?

sXeChris
May 7th, 2010, 07:04 PM
Hi, I am a student that has ordinarily used Windows since a very young age. I will officially start my career in I.T. in about 3 years and it is now that I am starting to take interest in learning about other operating systems - such as Ubuntu. I currently have Windows 7 32-bit on a partition and would like to install Ubuntu 8.10 (because I have a book that was originally my father's called Ubuntu 8.10 bible and I'm planning on making this my base of study for Ubuntu).

What would I have to do to successfully install 8.10 on another partition? I understand there are some problems with GRUB or something like that, I don't think I would be able to normally install it on another partition, like if it were just another operating system. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

frantid
May 7th, 2010, 07:10 PM
There are plenty of dual boot tutorials on the net. These examples are my favorite:

http://members.iinet.net/~herman546/index.html

snowpine
May 7th, 2010, 07:12 PM
Welcome to the forums! I think you will find Ubuntu is a great operating system and will teach you valuable skills. That being said, the 8.10 release has reached its "end of life." That means it is no longer supported and any learning you do with it will be obsolete. :( I would highly recommend installing the current release, 10.04 Lucid Lynx, instead, as it will be supported for 3 years.

There are some great how-tos at this page; (http://www.psychocats.net/ubuntu/index) you do not necessarily need to create a separate partition to try Ubuntu! :)

oldfred
May 7th, 2010, 10:00 PM
One of my ME design Professors recommended marking up the design book with updated and/or additional information as we learn more thru our career.