PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Logitech Quick Cam pro 9000 microphone and Skype

Hamletriveroftime
May 7th, 2010, 03:57 PM
Hello,nice to meet you all. It has been a long time i dreamed to get ubuntu and now i have my ubuntu 10.04 installed. I am a very beginner and i have a problem i hope you could possibly help me to fix. I found similar posts in the forum but no one helped me out.
i have a webcam Logitech quick cam pro 9000 and i tried to use it with skype 2.1 beta 2 i installed this morning. Well i can see the video but the microphone (build in the webcam ) does not work at all and it worked fine with windows. This is the lsusb command in the terminal :

Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 002 Device 005: ID 046d:0990 Logitech, Inc. QuickCam Pro 9000
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub

So i think the webcam is connected well.
Thank you for your help and attention in advance.

wackston
June 26th, 2010, 04:55 PM
I'm afraid I can only give you negative "help". I have a pro 9000 and although the mike seemed to work nicely under 9.10 with skype its unusable with skype under 10.04.

At a guess is some kind of version dependency in the way the alsa beta hooks up to pulse audio or an old-fashioned oops in the relevant driver.

Since the mike seems to work fine with other tools via oulse its probably the former. Most likely it will 'self-fix' if an when skype bring out an updated linux release...

wackston
June 26th, 2010, 04:55 PM
I of course meant ... the way *skype* hooks ... ;-)

dfehrer
May 6th, 2011, 04:26 AM
I have an older Quickcam (e2500, I think it's a Connect) that I got working with Skype: both the video and the camera's mic.

I'm pretty new to Ubuntu, so sorry if what I'm posting here is obvious and you already tried it and it didn't work.