PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu on new Dell Studio 15

Rackstar
May 6th, 2010, 08:39 PM
Hey,

I'm really thinking of buying this laptop:

http://www1.euro.dell.com/be/nl/thuis/Laptops/laptop-studio-1555/pd.aspx?refid=laptop-studio-1555&s=dhs&cs=bedhs1&~ck=mn

But I'm doubting if I would take the i7 processor or not... My question is: does quad core become more or less hot than dual core?

More processors, but less powerfull or two strong ones?

And ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD5470, I heard there could be some trouble with this graphics card on Ubuntu 10.04? I don't mind fixing things, but is it fixable?

Does anyone have this laptop?

Some comments would be hugely appreciated :)
Thanks!

clevertomato
May 7th, 2010, 10:27 AM
I cannot comment on exact hardware but I have a Dell Studio 1555 with ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570. It works flawlessly with Karmic but I can't get video drivers to work perfectly in Lucid.

Also, I'm no expert, but unless you have plans to run specific software that will take advantage of them, I'm not sure having 4 cores will really benefit you much.

Rackstar
May 7th, 2010, 10:37 AM
Thanks for the comment!

This isn't such a reinsurance :D

I've never had an ATI card before, always been happy with NVidia, only the lack for auto-detecting second screen was bugging me.

How is the state of the open source driver? Is it acceptable or shouldn't I count on that?

Thanks!

dino99
May 7th, 2010, 10:50 AM
Dell is more "closed" than "opened", read forums about Dell issues, better to buy something else (acer or ...)

More issues with Ati too and higher temperatures

ubuntu nvidia drivers works well with multi screens

mervinb
May 7th, 2010, 11:20 AM
I don't have the latest Studio 15, but an older Dell Studio 15 1537.

- I was previously using the AMD fglrx driver on Karmic and earlier because I had suspend/resume issues on the open source 'ati' driver. I now use the ati driver, and hibernate works well. Suspend is not functional (see next).