PDA

View Full Version : I want to get involved with an open source project...

dizzy1234
March 20th, 2006, 02:03 PM
... but I'm not sure (a) how to and (b) which one would be suitable for my talents.

I'm currently studying maths / comp-sci at uni and I've been thinking about getting involved with coding for an open source project. I'm interested in web technologies and I have plenty of experience with LAMP(HP) software as well as the front end stuff. I was leaning towards working on either Apache or PHP, although I don't know how much work gets done on those these days as they both strike me as very mature.

I am a little daunted by the prospect of getting involved with an established project with a massive code base with which I'll be playing catch up. Do large projects such as those mentioned above offer any sort of help for newcomers to their communities?

Any ideas or thoughts are appreciated.

endersshadow
March 20th, 2006, 02:42 PM
... but I'm not sure (a) how to and (b) which one would be suitable for my talents.

I'm currently studying maths / comp-sci at uni and I've been thinking about getting involved with coding for an open source project. I'm interested in web technologies and I have plenty of experience with LAMP(HP) software as well as the front end stuff. I was leaning towards working on either Apache or PHP, although I don't know how much work gets done on those these days as they both strike me as very mature.

I am a little daunted by the prospect of getting involved with an established project with a massive code base with which I'll be playing catch up. Do large projects such as those mentioned above offer any sort of help for newcomers to their communities?

OSS projects are always looking for more developers, you just need to know where to look. Hop onto Sourceforge's Help Wanted (https://sourceforge.net/people/) page and browse around for something that floats your boat. Or, you could do what I did and just create your own...heh...

ssam