PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Hello people. Newbie here.

AjI2010
May 5th, 2010, 09:53 PM
Hello people.

My first post here on the forums.

Just to let you know that I am a TOTAL newbie with ubuntu and I am also not knowledgable with code or anything like that.
You're all thinking "great!, not another one!"......but I am willing to learn.

I have chosen ubuntu because I am sick of windows and the constant crashing and various virus/malware attacks etc.

So as the ubuntu adverts say...."its free, so give it a try".

Well my ubuntu 9.10 install seems to have worked, but I can not get a good resolution on my acer X223w monitor.
And I can not seem to get ubuntu to recognise my wireless home network.

Any help would be much appreciated.
(In total layman terms would be nice ;) )

Cheers.

roubman
May 5th, 2010, 09:56 PM
I have a similar problem though mine is a bit more complex, but here is a website that might help you out
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/WifiDocs/Driver/Ndiswrapper

hope it helps

_0R10N
May 5th, 2010, 11:34 PM
Welcome!!! ):P

Well, when in case of a fresh install, it's always recommended to update the system. You should run

sudo aptitude update
sudo aptitude upgrade
That will upgrade several packages and fix a lot of bugs. After that, reboot your system and hopefully those problems will be gone.

Kind regards!

Alan James
May 5th, 2010, 11:57 PM
Well my ubuntu 9.10 install seems to have worked, but I can not get a good resolution on my acer X223w monitor.

You may need to install video card drivers. What type of video card do you have?

grumpy.medic
May 6th, 2010, 12:58 AM
Hello people.
And I can not seem to get ubuntu to recognise my wireless home network.

Hi there. Even though I am not too familiar with your particular model, you might want to try the following:

Hardwire your laptop to your router/modem for internet access
Run the upate System>Administration>Update Manager. Click check and after it finishes on Install Updates