PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't install Lucid (monitor switches to standby)

denBosch
May 5th, 2010, 08:22 PM
I cannot install Ubuntu 10.04, or even boot into the live CD. I'm not an expert, but I've used Ubuntu for several years, and I'm pretty sure I'm not doing anything stupid...

Here's what happens when I boot with the Ubuntu 10.04 live CD:

I get a purple screen with just an accessibility(?) symbol at the bottom (this lasts 15 seconds).
The screen goes black, with a flashing cursor, then changes back to purple, this time with an Ubuntu logo, with 5 dots acting as a progress indicator (this lasts about 1 minute).
The screen switches to standby. The CD drive continues to make noises for another minute or so, then stops.

I physically removed my graphics card (ATI Radeon HD 5770), and plugged the monitor straight into the VGA port on the motherboard. Now the CD boots up fine.

I could try installing Ubuntu at this point, while my graphics card is unplugged, and then plug my graphics card back in, and see if it starts working then... But I'm not sure if this is a good idea?

Any advice greatly appreciated.

v79
May 8th, 2010, 01:38 PM
Did you ever manage to resolve this while using your ATI card? I'm having exactly the same problem on a HD 5670. Really don't want to have to open up the PC.

denBosch
May 10th, 2010, 11:19 AM
Did you ever manage to resolve this while using your ATI card? I'm having exactly the same problem on a HD 5670. Really don't want to have to open up the PC.