PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] VMware player::kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: unable to mount root.................

newbee_
May 5th, 2010, 12:31 PM
Hi,

I am relatively new in Ubuntu. I have following problem:

I recently started to use Ubuntu in VWware player on my windows-XP.
I installed ubuntu 10.04 few days ago, It was working fine.

Yesterday, I compile a new kernel, kernel 2.6.33 in my vmware ubuntu 10.04. Everything went well till I did reboot. before reboot I use the command "update-grub" to make it compatible to the new kernel. BUT... after rebooting, I have a problem in loading a grub correctly. it gives me following message " [2.149136 ]kernel panic - not syncing: VFS: unable to mount root fs on unknown-block(0,0)" and I can not proceed further. I have my all data on it. I also tried to boot it from live CD but unfortunately, I can't mount the hard disk on it in order to get those data from my old Ubuntu set up.

I guess, There must be some way to come out of this. I checked all the forums but count not find the correct solution. I would appreciate if it's possible to get those data back in some way then, I'm ready to reinstall ubuntu.

I would really appreciate all the member if you I get a help to come out of this.

Any suggestion?

Thanx,

dr_latino999
May 5th, 2010, 07:40 PM
I'm experiencing the same issue as the OP. Using kernel x.33, in VMWare Workstation 7.0 / 7.1 beta, and ESX 3.5i I return the kernel panic error.

newbee_
May 5th, 2010, 08:40 PM
Hi dr_latino999 (http://ubuntuforums.org/member.php?u=832399)

At least I got reply...... thanx...

Have you found out how to deal this issue?

I hope we come over this problem soon.....

regards,

newbee_

dr_latino999
May 5th, 2010, 09:17 PM
Hi dr_latino999 (http://ubuntuforums.org/member.php?u=832399)

At least I got reply...... thanx...

Have you found out how to deal this issue?

I hope we come over this problem soon.....

regards,

newbee_