PDA

View Full Version : What can you advise?

cozski
May 5th, 2010, 12:15 PM
Hello

I'm hoping that some people may be able to provide me with some advice/sign-posting/guidance etc.

My day job is as a Community Development Worker in Dublin, Ireland... work that I have been involved in for approx 12 years, across Dublin & Belfast. One of the things that has always struck me in my work is the dependency voluntary & community organisations have with established commercial technologies. To a certain degreee this is understandable... the IT guy said we need this and he's the IT guy so he must be right... that kinda makes sense in alot of organisations. But most people familiar with the options will quickly realise that this is not always the the most efficient & effective way for your organisation to work... particularly in a climate of increasingly scarce resources... and let me assure you, it's always the poorer end of society that gets hit first.