PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Dual boot across 2 hard drives?

aaron94
May 4th, 2010, 08:59 PM
Hello, I'm new to these great forums and have a question:

I would like to install Ubuntu 10.04 on my new 1 TB hard drive. I currently have Windows XP installed on a 160 GB hard drive for things that I cannot do on Ubuntu.

I would like to know if it's possible to install the other hard drive, and then dual boot Windows with it? Effectively dual booting across two hard drives. I wouldn't care if GRUB replaces the standard Windows bootloader, just as long as I can choose between the two at startup :)

Does anyone know if it's possible to do this? Thanks in advance :)

ubername
May 4th, 2010, 09:00 PM
Yes, you can do it easily. Just select the second hard drive in the partition step of the install.

aaron94
May 4th, 2010, 09:06 PM
Ok, just wanted to make sure that GRUB doesn't get installed to the wrong hard drive and won't let me boot at all....

oldfred
May 4th, 2010, 09:12 PM
When you do the install you need to use the advanced button and make sure to choose the 1TB drive (probably sdb) to install grub to. Then in BIOS switch boot to the 1TB drive. You should be able to switch back at any time and directly boot windows. If necessary it is not difficult to reinstall a windows boot loader or grub to sda or sdb as required. It is generally better to have grub on the same drive as the Ubuntu install. If the install does not immediately find windows sudo update-grub should find it.

tsucol11
May 4th, 2010, 09:23 PM
Hello, I'm new to these great forums and have a question:

I would like to install Ubuntu 10.04 on my new 1 TB hard drive. I currently have Windows XP installed on a 160 GB hard drive for things that I cannot do on Ubuntu.