PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Apache 2 quick question.

DragoshDX
May 4th, 2010, 03:44 PM
Hello, I am new to Ubuntu.
I recently had the job of administrating an ubuntu server (9.10 I believe) dropped on me.

The server root I have is /var/www, I assume that's where ubuntu default instalation puts it.

There were two folders there that can be seen from the outside, I created a new folder with sudo privileges, and placed an xml file there, but I can't see it from the internet. If I move it in one of the existing folders I can see it just fine.

My question is how do I make apache serve all the new folders I create and all the files in them by direct link.

NOTE: Folders should not display their index tree if an index.html/php is missing but should allow direct acces to files/folders inside them by direct URL address.

Thank you.

tumandro
May 4th, 2010, 03:48 PM
Do you have the correct permissions on the file?

DragoshDX
May 4th, 2010, 04:17 PM
Well I believe /var/www owner is root but ubuntu doesn't have any root acount.

Should I change permisions to read for everyone?
How do I do that?

cdenley
May 4th, 2010, 04:28 PM
Well I believe /var/www owner is root but ubuntu doesn't have any root acount.

Should I change permisions to read for everyone?
How do I do that?

There is a root user. It doesn't have a password, though, so you can't authenticate as root. Anything done with "sudo" will be done with the root user, though.

Documents and directories served by apache need to be readable by the user www-data. This is usually done by making them world-readable.

sudo chmod -R o+rwX /var/www/newfolder

What do your site configurations look like?

sudo cat /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/*

If you don't want directory listings, don't enable it. Make sure "Indexes" isn't listed on any "Options" directive. If it is, remove it.

<VirtualHost *:80>
ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost
DocumentRoot /var/www
<Directory />
Options FollowSymLinks
AllowOverride None
</Directory>