PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Error: Out of Disk

chzuck
May 4th, 2010, 01:00 PM
I am new to Ubuntu. I have heard much about it from my brother, so I thought I would give it a try. I loaded the newest version 10.04. When I rebooted here is what came up on the screen.
Grub loading
error: out of disk
Grub Rescue>
So, I thought I would format the hard drive and install an older version. I installed 9.10 and got the same results. I then tried to work through many of the fixes I found on this forum without any change. When it comes to this kind of stuff, I am not to computer literate. I am trying to install this on an old Gateway computer 350mhz. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Please make it easy to understand and assume I know almost nothing.:(

lechien73
May 4th, 2010, 01:35 PM
Could you give some more details about the size of your hard disk? Old computer systems have problems booting if the partition starts beyond cylinder 1024.

Maybe you could try updating your BIOS, which might help. Take a look at http://support.gateway.com/support/drivers/dlcenter.asp?cmpid=topnav and see if you can download an update.

kansasnoob
May 4th, 2010, 01:45 PM
That sounds somewhat like this error:

http://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/bootinfoscript/index.php?title=Boot_Problems:write

But I thought that was fixed in 10.04?

Anyway it sounds like your CPU is 350mhz, how much RAM do you have?

Were you able to run the Live CD, that is just running the Live Desktop without installing?

If so it might be helpful to see the output of the Boot Info Script:

http://bootinfoscript.sourceforge.net/

And also the output from terminal of:

lshw

chzuck
May 4th, 2010, 02:26 PM
My hard drive is 10gb and I have 320mb RAM installed. I am able to run Ubuntu from the live CD. I will check for BIOS update and other requested info. It may be a few days since I start my 4 day 12 hr work schedule tonight.

Carl Hamlin
May 4th, 2010, 02:31 PM