PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Squirrelmail on Ubuntu 10.04: Problem

satishsood1
May 4th, 2010, 10:12 AM
Hi,
Firstly I am a beginner to Linux/Ubuntu.

Background
I have been installing and using squirrelmail on Ubuntu 9.10 successfully. The steps used were as under:-
1. Install Ubuntu Server 9.10 with all options checked. Install ubuntu-desktop.
2. Install Webmin for GUI
3. Rename /var/www/index.html as /var/www/index1.html
4. Create /var/www/mail folder
5. Create /var/local/squirrelmail
6. Cteare /var/local/squirrelmail/data
7. Create /var/local/squirrelmail/attach
8. Change ownership of ..../data and ..../attach folder as above to www-data
9. Run configuration file of squirrelmail
10. Set servername server5.local, Set for dovecot settings (predefined).
11. Save configuration
12. Access the server through web browser
13. Click mail, squirrelmail login page appears and everything is functional. It works without any problem.

Problem
However after installing ubuntu server 10.04 and going through all the above steps, the login page appears. When I login, it gives a message "Error: Error Connection dropped by IMAP server".

I do not know whether there are any specific settings for dovecot, squirrelmail or Ubuntu Server 10.04.
Ubuntu server 10.04 must also work without any problems if 9.10 was working.
I tried with evolution mail also. Sending was OK, but the mail could not be received
Therefore, for email server with evolutionmail/squirrelmail I am back to Ubuntu 9.10 till such time it is resolved.

Any suggestions, please.
Thanks and regards,
Satish

sspence
May 4th, 2010, 11:23 PM
I am not sure if it is related, but since I upgraded to 10.04 a few days ago, my imap is down also. when I try to start dovecot, I get a message that states

"Error: Error in configuration file /etc/dovecot/dovecot.conf line 691: Unknown setting: sieve"