PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Advise on migrating Windows 2000 Server to Linux Server

Jester2109
May 4th, 2010, 08:12 AM
Good Morning All,

I am looking for some advise on what the benefits would be if I were to migrate my home Windows 2000 server to an Ubuntu (or other Linux flavour) Server.

Background:
I am actually an IT Professional, but one who has always worked with Microsoft products. Through the years, I have 'toyed' with Linux/Unix (both professionally and at home), but never really looked at it seriously. Now I want to learn the Linux/Unix world to help expand my IT knowledge.

To that end, I am currently playing with Linux on my home environment. I have been using Ubuntu Desktop on an old Dell PC happily for the last few weeks, now I am considering going the next step and installing a Linux Server.

At home (being a bit of a geek), I currently have a Windows 2000 Server installed with a shared network printer hanging off it and several shares.

The only reason for having a Windows Server has always been to be able to share my printer easily with everyone in the household (it is not a printer with an inbuilt network card) and also to share the mp3's I have with other members of the household (i.e. my kids) that enables them to easily put music on their iPods. The kids also use the shares for sharing and exchanging various things between each other (such as homework and art - all of them like to draw art onto their PC's through use of Graphic Tablets).

In total, there are currently 13 PC's (including 4 laptops) on my home network. The majority of the PC's and laptops are running either Windows XP, Windows Vista or Windows 7. Obviously, I also have the Windows 2000 server, an Ubuntu Desktop (as described above) and an AppleMac.