PDA

View Full Version : error message: symbol 'grub_puts_' not found

Idun
May 3rd, 2010, 09:43 PM
Hi!
Today I installed the netbook edition of lucid on my asus 901. I got no error messages during the installation, everything seemed fine until I tried to boot into the new system. Grub gave an error message: symbol 'grub_puts_' not found.

I began looking for a way to solve this, and tried this guide:
http://www.webupd8.org/2010/05/fix-symbol-grubputs-not-found-when.html

Unfortunately it didn't help me at all, I still get the same error message.

I would be very grateful if someone helped me.

Thanks!

willbradley
June 2nd, 2010, 09:18 PM
I just had the same exact problem and found a solution. Please leave your feedback!

HUGE WARNING: I am a Linux noob! Following the below instructions could very well make your computer explode and cause 1000 years of highly-prized award-winning photos to vanish from your computer, never to be recovered again. You do this at your own risk.

That said, this is how I managed to fix this problem without doing the things mentioned on this page: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RecoveringUbuntuAfterInstallingWindows -- my setup was Windows 7 with Ubuntu Netbook Remix 9.10, installed in that order, with all defaults, on an Acer Aspire netbook. During the automatic upgrade to UNR 10.04 it asked me details about my partitions and GRUB configuration, but I guess I answered wrong and got this grub_puts_ error on the next reboot.

Download Ubuntu 10.04 Netbook Remix and put it on a CD or USB drive. Boot to it (it should boot into Ubuntu itself like a Live CD) and open up a Terminal window and type the commands below (ignore # as it represents the console.)

Based on http://readlist.com/lists/lists.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-users/29/149961.html --

# sudo fdisk -l