PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Do I NEED to partition my drive?

hedgeborn
May 3rd, 2010, 04:30 AM
Real simple question. I just completed a clean install of Lucid Lynx netbook version on my netbook and realized I did it all in one big partition using Gpart

Now, I'm a newbie (obviously) but I am reading all sorts of things telling me I should have a "swap" partition and a home partition and so forth.

I'm confused as to how to start over and do it the right way, how/what to name the partitions and if any of this is even necessary.

The computer is working fine. I understand the benefit of having a seperate /home partition etc but I am clueless as to how to set these partitions up in Gpart, how big they should be and how the installer is going to know where to put what.

Any guidance would be appreciated. Thanks

hedgeborn
May 3rd, 2010, 02:40 PM
bump

hedgeborn
May 4th, 2010, 03:03 AM
Anyone out there?

Genius314
May 4th, 2010, 03:35 AM
It depends.

Swap I believe is necessary on notebooks and netbooks, as this is where your RAM is stored when the notebook goes into hibernation/sleep mode. Most people suggest making the swap partition about 1.5 to 2 times the size of your RAM. So if you have 2 GB of memory, your swap partition should be about 3-4 GB.

Having a /home partition is completely optional. I love it, because it allows you to do a clean install without needing to backup your files (although I still recommend it).
Generally I give the root partition (the one Ubuntu is installed on) about 10 GB, maybe a bit more if you plan on installing a *lot* of extra programs. The rest of the drive can be given to the /home partition.

You can do the partitioning right in the installation process.
BACKUP YOUR /HOME FOLDER FIRST, ONTO A SEPARATE HARD DRIVE (or two, if you're feeling extra paranoid. :P)
(*this is assuming you actually have stuff in your /home folder. If your home folder just has the default stuff in it, there's probably no need to backup)