PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] No Boot & Garbled screen after 9.10 to 10.04 update

rkraml
May 2nd, 2010, 09:30 PM
I am a real-time embedded programmer but still only marginally familiar with Linux. I have had it installed on this laptop since version 7.xx and until now, the upgrades have essentially gone without a hitch.

So... 9.10 with latest updates was working fine.

I upgraded via update manger with no issues that I could see. Upon reboot, I get a garbled screen and non-responsive system. I can make out that there is some text but I cant read it. Booting to recover console and safe graphics mode still results in garbled unresponsive screen. Just before the bad screen mounts I see a message flash by to the effect of nouveau something.

Note: booting to older Karmic 2.6.31.xx kernel still comes up OK with some new errors (something like: "cant mount none to /dev" and "initramfs not available") and still seems to still work although it is not as responsive as before. Interestingly, as an aside, the Firefox menus don't work (!) but firefox itself does.

I also tried a new 10.04 install from Live CD on new partition on same drive and it boots up OK but produces a lesser garbled but at least readable screen. The arrow cursor has "noisy fuzz" around it and the screen borders have noisy pixels.

Dell Latitude D800 Laptop
internal nVidia Go 4200 at native LCD 1920x1200 resolution
1GB RAM, 1.GHz Centrino

cariboo
May 2nd, 2010, 10:59 PM
Try going to System->Administration->Hardware Drivers and install the correct restricted driver for your graphics chipset. if that doesn't cure the problem, start in recovery mode, hold down the shift key at the start of the boot, a grub menu should come up, use the arrow keys to select recovery mode. Once at the menu select drop to root prompt. At the prompt type:

nvidia-xconfig

once the above command has created a new /etc/X11/xorg.conf file, type at the prompt:

reboot

You should now be able to boot to a proper desktop.