PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu And Neomagic - There Has To Be A Better Way

chris1379
May 2nd, 2010, 06:44 AM
I've been using Ubuntu for a few months now and I'm mostly happy and even impressed for a free OS. I've tried Hardy, Karmic, Mint 5 and now Lucid. My idea was to replace Windows 98 or 2000 as the primary OS on this laptop, a Sony PCG-F580K with a Neomagic NM2380 chip. Everything works just as well with Ubuntu with one exception. The video performance is much better in Windows. I'm not talking about 3D or anything complex, just watching DVD, DivX, mp4, etc. I have VLC on Windows 2000 and Ubuntu and I only see one big difference between them. Windows uses DirectX to display the video, while Ubuntu uses XVideo. DirectX doesn't use the CPU but Xvideo uses around 20%. With a 700 MHz CPU, this can make the difference between smooth video and unwatchable stuttering.

So, is there a Linux equivalent to DirectX? I see there is something called DirectFB but I can't find enough info on it to know if it could work. Is there something I'm missing or am I hopelessly stuck with using Windows to watch video.

WinterRain
May 2nd, 2010, 07:07 AM
You really can't compare win2k with the latest ubuntu. Win2k can run on 128mb ram, and is very lightweight, saving resources for other operations. I would go with another distro that is made for older computers, such as Antix Mepis (http://antix.mepis.org/index.php/Main_Page). It's debian based like ubuntu, so the commands are very similar. I highly recommend it. Use the right tool for the right job.

You might also want to try Puppy linux on that machine, which is even lighter than antix.

chris1379
May 7th, 2010, 03:32 AM