PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Linux sounds like the future

darkflavar1
May 2nd, 2010, 03:10 AM
I am new to the whole linux/ ubuntu thing. But sounds very
interesting. I am thinking of a dual boot of window, linux
with firefox as my search engine for linux ,and zorin os 2.0
as my serch engine. Does that sound fesible ???

Revolutionary101
May 2nd, 2010, 03:20 AM
Firefox is a fine choice for web browsing on Linux and you can access many search engines with it (Google, Bing, Yahoo, Ask.com).

If you are mostly interested in web browsing (or anything else) Linux is a great choice for you. It's fast, free, and you don't have to worry about Windows viruses.

To do the dual-boot just download the .iso image from the Ubuntu website and make a bootable CD. Once you create one, just follow the instructions on the screen to install Ubuntu. After you install it, you can surf the web until your heart is content.

I don't know much about Zorin, but it is not a search engine. It is actually an operating system just like Ubuntu, Windows and Mac OSX.

nhasian
May 2nd, 2010, 03:30 AM
this should help too:

Ubuntu Manual (http://ubuntu-manual.org/downloads)

Sealbhach
May 2nd, 2010, 03:37 AM

I don't know much about Zorin but dual booting is very feasible and millions of people dual boot Windows and Linux.

Try out the Live CD session at least, it will give you an idea of what to expect before you install it.

ibuclaw
May 2nd, 2010, 03:58 AM
Zorin? Sounds like more horrible derivatives to me.

If you wish to give it a whirl, download and try the vanilla versions of Ubuntu instead.

If KDE is your fancy: http://www.kubuntu.org/

Regards

tgalati4
May 2nd, 2010, 05:58 AM
The future is what you make it.

If you install Ubuntu, then yes, Linux is the future.

FoxMcCloudwp
May 2nd, 2010, 06:09 AM

Yeah, dual boot, and get use to using Ubuntu

Linux is the future :)

Bucky Ball
May 2nd, 2010, 06:10 AM
... my future, my present, my past!