PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Java applets cause high cpu usage

mitk0o0o0
May 1st, 2010, 10:40 PM
Hello, yesterday when 10.04 got released i decided i'd install it and try it out, when i tried to run a java applet on it (runescape for example) the CPU usage got really high (around 100%), is that normal?

Info about my processor if you need:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+ 2,61 GHz

This is my first time ever using ubuntu.

infamous-online
May 1st, 2010, 11:36 PM
Hello, yesterday when 10.04 got released i decided i'd install it and try it out, when i tried to run a java applet on it (runescape for example) the CPU usage got really high (around 100%), is that normal?

Info about my processor if you need:
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+ 2,61 GHz

This is my first time ever using ubuntu.

Sadly, this isn't an issue with an operating system, I think it's a memory leak in the program itself. I have this very issue whenever I visit sites with flash or whenever I go to yahoo to play dominoes my Quad Core Phenom jumps to %60 just like that. However I haven't suffered from it, but I always keep my task manager open and keep an eye on my CPU temp. Speaking of which I need to install the CPU temp monitor on my Ubuntu box. :guitar:

mitk0o0o0
May 2nd, 2010, 10:43 AM
Sadly, this isn't an issue with an operating system, I think it's a memory leak in the program itself. I have this very issue whenever I visit sites with flash or whenever I go to yahoo to play dominoes my Quad Core Phenom jumps to %60 just like that. However I haven't suffered from it, but I always keep my task manager open and keep an eye on my CPU temp. Speaking of which I need to install the CPU temp monitor on my Ubuntu box. :guitar:So there is no fix?

dogafin
May 13th, 2010, 08:43 PM