PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual Boot Windows XP and Ubuntu 10.04 With Two Hard Drives

RockScissors
May 1st, 2010, 07:44 PM
Hello. I'm new to the whole Linux scene. I got a virus on Windows a few days ago and really made me want to switch to Linux. I downloaded the new 10.04 LTS ISO and have Daemon tools (do I need to burn it to a CD to install?) and have a an empty hard drive. Basically, I want to install Ubuntu onto my F: drive (my small 30GB hard drive, slave) and keep Windows on my C: (large 160GB drive, master) and dual boot. Can someone give me simple, step by step instructions to install Ubuntu to my F: drive and leave Windows on my C: drive? From what it looks like, if I run the Ubuntu installer, it should take care of everything and allow me to choose to boot to Windows or Ubuntu when I turn the computer on, correct?

Thanks for helping a beginner out.

thermopyl
June 1st, 2010, 11:34 AM
Hi

I have the same requirement. My approach is that I have Vista on 'C' and want to install Ubuntu on 'D'.

I want too boot as a default first option to Ubuntu, but have Vista as an option in the Grub.

I plan to unplug my C drive and then install Ubuntu directly onto 'D'. I then change the BIOS to boot to 'D'. If you are doing this for the first time, follow the instructions!

Once i test the ubuntu boot, I will then reconnect 'C'.

I suspect that I will need to edit the menu.lst file to reference the 'C' drive...

...will this work guys??

darkod
June 1st, 2010, 02:35 PM
Hi

I have the same requirement. My approach is that I have Vista on 'C' and want to install Ubuntu on 'D'.

I want too boot as a default first option to Ubuntu, but have Vista as an option in the Grub.

I plan to unplug my C drive and then install Ubuntu directly onto 'D'. I then change the BIOS to boot to 'D'. If you are doing this for the first time, follow the instructions!

Once i test the ubuntu boot, I will then reconnect 'C'.