PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Nvidia Driver problem

EnderBG
May 1st, 2010, 07:33 PM
Hi guys, I have a major issue with updating the driver for my Nvidia graphics card. I am very new to ubuntu, love it so far, but i just have this one problem. I am trying to update the driver(s) for my Nvidia GeForce 8200, just so i can do a bit of gaming and enable 3D effects on my laptop. Problem is that every time I attempt to update it, right after the installation and reboot... I get a split screen of six tiles in horrible resolution. At that point i attempted to uninstall the drivers, and nothing worked. It was very difficult to work when the screen was split into six different pieces... so I just ended up reinstalling the OS to fix the issue. Can anyone please tell me how I can get around this issue.... is it possible to fix it through a terminal window by typing in a bunch of commands? Please help... Im a total newb! Thanks in advance guys.

INFO: Ubuntu 10.04 LTS, Gnome 2.30, AMD Athlon Dual-Core QL-64, 3GB DDR2 RAM, GeForce 8200

wojox
May 1st, 2010, 07:46 PM
You need to edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf and add this under Section "Device"

Option "ModeValidation" "NoTotalSizeCheck"

xumuk37
May 1st, 2010, 07:52 PM
and what about nVidia drivers? It affects me too...

wojox
May 1st, 2010, 07:54 PM
and what about nVidia drivers? It affects me too...

If you have six screens do the same.

xumuk37
May 1st, 2010, 08:01 PM
not the six screen. I'm talking about I either can install nVidia drivers, tried by Hardware Drivers and downloading from nVidia web (NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-195.36.15-pkg2.run). It's always something wrong there... In Karmic and in Arch it works pretty fine! I'm thinking/sure it's a kernel problem, but don't know how to fix it... With 2.6.32-17-generic worked with no problems.

xumuk37
May 1st, 2010, 08:31 PM
bump!

wojox
May 1st, 2010, 08:40 PM
bump!

Have you looked at this thread http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1467074&highlight=install+nvidia+driver ?