PDA

View Full Version : how can i write my own printf function?

Max Destruction
May 1st, 2010, 06:32 AM
hey all, im a new programmer.

i was wondering how you would go about writing the printf function yourself? it is my understanding that when you call printf you are calling an already written function and just providing an argument? if this is the case, is it possible to write that function yourself with just the bare primitives of the language? i only want to know because i am curious about how things like that work.

soltanis
May 1st, 2010, 07:13 AM
You can. It wouldn't be my idea of fun. But you can.

You should look into handling variable arguments with the C language.

Try man 3 stdarg.

Max Destruction
May 1st, 2010, 07:29 AM
cool i'll do that now.

i considered having a look for the function itself in the libraries but found all .a files and .o files ..binaries. apparently the gcc compiler is written mostly in c so most like lt all these built in functions are too. i could go scavenge through the gcc source but i wouldn't even know what i was looking at. :D

soltanis
May 1st, 2010, 07:32 AM
As they are the spawn of Stallman, you can of course get the source code (wohoo free software) but yes, it wouldn't be very clear what you were looking at.

Basically, it's complicated. It involves some assembler, some calls to the operating system, all of which I don't think serve the purpose of why you would want to do this, which is build a function which parses a variable number of arguments intelligently. If your aim is instead to explore how C function calls are made in machine language or how the standard library talks to the Linux kernel, you should look at the source.

Max Destruction
May 1st, 2010, 08:03 AM
indeed. i've got ahold of the gcc source. hopefully Stallman has commented it well enough to give me some clues. At least he didnt write it in lisp :p

MadCow108
May 1st, 2010, 11:19 AM
do you want to write your own output function from scratch?