PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Clonezilla & GRUB problem

kakashi_12
April 30th, 2010, 03:21 PM
Okay, so this is my first time ever using Clonezilla to actually restore an image. Now that it's restored the whole drive (dual boot Ubuntu and XP) it won't boot. It just sits at the GRUB screen saying please wait to boot. Can I put in the Ubuntu CD and rebuild the GRUB? It won't allow me to go anywhere else or say any OS.

kansasnoob
April 30th, 2010, 03:28 PM
Please use an Ubuntu Live CD and post the output of the Boot Info Script as described here:

http://bootinfoscript.sourceforge.net/

kakashi_12
April 30th, 2010, 04:11 PM
What would the command be to list that info?

kakashi_12
April 30th, 2010, 06:48 PM
nvm, i understand the cmd from the link now.

But, I can't find a download link for a LIVE Ubuntu iso. I found Ubuntu 10 (but it's too big to fit on a cd-r. barely). i want either 8 or 9. I found 9, but it's not live.

kakashi_12
April 30th, 2010, 08:24 PM
Unfortunately that bash command isn't working! But I got the application downloaded. I can open it and it displays a bunch of info. Do you want me to paste that? Should I also paste my menu.lst

Edit: nvm, i got the cmd to work.

kakashi_12
April 30th, 2010, 08:33 PM
Here's the attachment of the txt file.

kansasnoob
April 30th, 2010, 08:38 PM
Do you know where the Boot Info Script downloaded to?

Usually either Desktop or Downloads. If it's on the Desktop run the command:

cd Desktop

And then:

sudo bash boot_info_script055.sh

If it runs at the very end it will say where the RESULTS.txt is saved. As an example my downloads go to Downloads (and I have a weird symlinked data system):

lance@lance-desktop:~$ cd Downloads
lance@lance-desktop:~/Downloads$ sudo bash boot_info_script055.sh
[sudo] password for lance:
Identifying MBRs...
Computing Partition Table of /dev/sda...
Computing Partition Table of /dev/sdb...
Searching sda1 for information...
Searching sda2 for information...