PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Need help with Advanced Partitioning for 10.04 please! (Yes, I'm a noob!)

LinuxNeubie
April 29th, 2010, 11:05 PM
I'm sure this is "old hat" for most of you non-rookies, but I'm in need of help on partitioning. Situation is this: I tried on numerous occasions to install various varieties of the OS (9.04, 9.10, 9.1 ALternate) all to no avail because we - being me and forum helpers - couldn't get any of them to work with my video card except on LiveCD in safe graphics mode.
So, I've booted the LiveCD and it works OK - not perfect mind you because it's still got a few lines here and there which I imagine can be fixed - but to the point, I will be deleting the old partition where 9.10 used to be installed and I need to know how to set it up properly.

First it should be said that I triple-boot Ubuntu, XP and Windows 7. It handles all that fine.

1. I need to know if the partition should be A) Primary or B) Logical
2. Location A) Beginning B) End
3. Use as: Ext4 journaling file system, Ext3, Ext2, ReiserFS, JFS, or XFS. It asks about fat16 or 32 but I'm almost sure I wouldn't want that.
Last, Mount Point. /, /boot, /home, /tmp, /vsr, /srv, /opt or /usr/local

I think some are obvious "not"s but since I'm virtually clueless I'm asking the experts! I appreciate your help!
THANKS!

srs5694
April 30th, 2010, 01:09 AM
For questions 1, 2, and 3, the answer is "any of the above (with one exception)." Linux is happy on either primary or logical partitions, at the start or end of the disk, and on any of the specified filesystems except for FAT. (Personally, I prefer ReiserFS for my main system and XFS for anything that'll hold big files; however, most Ubuntu users seem to use ext3fs or, more recently, ext4fs for everything.) Given that any given MBR disk can have only four primary partitions, it's probably best to use nothing but logical partitions for Linux, assuming the current partition layout enables you to do so.