PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problems installing 10.04

Motjida
April 29th, 2010, 10:46 PM
Hi all,

I hope you can help me out here. I'm new to the whole Linux business, and I'm trying to install the lastest and greatest Ubuntu on my HP dc7900 SFF PC.

When i first boot from the CD there are no problems, it boots into LiveCD mode and I can see the desktop and all the icons just fine.

I click Install Ubuntu 10.04 LTE and fire through the 7 steps and the installation begins. A few minutes later it's all done and prompts me to reboot. Once the "Click Enter to reboot" appears, I eject the CD, close the tray and press Enter.

Now here's the odd part.

After a second or two i get a black-blue screen with a _ flickering in the top left corner. From my experience with the install on a VM, it should very quickly continue past this step and boot into Ubuntu, but nothing happens... It just stays on the black-blue screen flickering the damn _ until I give up and close it down.

Any help is appreciated and if you need any additional information, let me know.

I've tried both the x86 and the amd64 install... same problem with both.
Also it's the Desktop install, and it's NOT a dual boot system.

Thanks in advance :)

/Mot

drreed
April 29th, 2010, 10:51 PM
Hi all,

After a second or two i get a black-blue screen with a _ flickering in the top left corner. From my experience with the install on a VM, it should very quickly continue past this step and boot into Ubuntu, but nothing happens... It just stays on the black-blue screen flickering the damn _ until I give up and close it down.

Any help is appreciated and if you need any additional information, let me know.

I've tried both the x86 and the amd64 install... same problem with both.

Thanks in advance :)

/Mot