PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Lucid Won't Boot After nVidia Driver Install

Nomad64
April 29th, 2010, 12:48 AM
First let me say that I have been using Ubuntu as a server OS for several years now. I haven't used it much as my main desktop OS mainly because of graphic driver performance. As a gamer, I like the best performance possible from my machine.

Anyways, I thought I would give the new Ubuntu 10.04 a try and see how it performs on my machine (specs below). However, I am having an issue that is really starting to frustrate me.

First, machine some specs:
MSI P6N SLI Motherboard
Pentium Core 2 Duo E6850 @ 3.00GHz
2xGeForce 9600 GT cards (SLI)

Ubuntu installed fine from CD, and booted up the first time without issues. I connected it to my wireless network, played around with Firefox for a bit, then decided to install the proprietary nVidia drivers (via System > Administration > Hardware Drivers). I installed the current driver package (195.36.15) and rebooted. Then it all went south...

The machine wouldn't boot after the driver install. Basically, it would start to boot into Ubuntu, then the display would freeze (sometimes black, sometimes with a blinking curser, sometimes with some garbled display). I tried moving my DVI cable to different outputs, but the only output that gave any sort of response was the primary one I normally use. After a few reboots, I was about to give up when I remembered that I had read somewhere that taking out one graphics card can sometimes solve problems with the nVidia drivers. I removed a card and tried again...and the system came up without any issues. It was even running the nVidia driver. I could bring up nVidia X Server Settings and such all OK.

So I dug around for a few hours on the forums and Google and couldn't find much with relation to this release of Ubuntu and my problem. I tried a few other things from various threads without any success. I am having the same issue on the 32 and 64 bit versions.