PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] fqdn determination



blakep2
April 28th, 2010, 10:02 PM
when i start apache this comes up

Starting web server apache2 apache2: Could not reliably determine the server's fully qualified domain name, using 127.0.1.1 for ServerName

I have the namevirtualhost set and my site configuration has the Servername, and VirtualHost as well.

wojox
April 28th, 2010, 10:07 PM
Try:


sudo nano /etc/apache2/apache2.conf

And add:

ServerName "192.168.1.123"

or whatever your ip address is.

cdenley
April 28th, 2010, 10:19 PM
That is a harmless warning, but if it annoys you, run this command.


echo "ServerName localhost" | sudo tee /etc/apache2/conf.d/fqdn

blakep2
April 28th, 2010, 10:31 PM
if i wanted to add a subdomain to this site would it recognize it. My A record is my home's ip address. My router is set to forward the 80 port to the local ip that is currently running the main site. How would i configure the subdomain.

cdenley
April 28th, 2010, 10:58 PM
if i wanted to add a subdomain to this site would it recognize it. My A record is my home's ip address. My router is set to forward the 80 port to the local ip that is currently running the main site. How would i configure the subdomain.

That question is not related to this thread. You already have a thread for that topic, though the title isn't very descriptive.