PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] FIle association on LXDE

musex
April 28th, 2010, 07:45 AM
Hi everyone!:)
I'm new to the ubuntu world so I need your help...
I've recently installed LXDE on ubuntu cause I needed a faster gui for my computer and gnome was too slow.By the way, ubuntu is running on a 2400+sempron with 512MB ram.Now it seems that LXDE is working fine,it's very fast,but since I installed it I noticed that it had a few problems with the file association.I mean every time I try to open a file I'm being asked what program I want to use.Is there any way to keep the same file association I have on gnome also on LXDE?
Thank you and sorry for my english:P

kerry_s
April 28th, 2010, 11:26 AM
right click it-> properties

musex
April 28th, 2010, 11:44 AM
I don't have that option in the properties...

musex
April 28th, 2010, 11:53 AM
wait...I've got a different version of pcmanfm,you've got the 0.9.4,where did you find it?I couldn't find it on the official website...

kerry_s
April 28th, 2010, 12:01 PM
it's not executable file is it?

where did you find it?

add the lubuntu ppa:
ppa:lubuntu-desktop/ppa

provides lxde things.

musex
April 28th, 2010, 01:20 PM
Ok i've just added that line to the software sources...but synaptic packet manager doesn't find the new version of pcman...:confused:

musex
April 28th, 2010, 01:26 PM
No it's not executable files,just any other kind,.pdf odt. etc...

kerry_s
April 28th, 2010, 02:20 PM
Ok i've just added that line to the software sources...but synaptic packet manager doesn't find the new version of pcman...:confused:

did you reload?

No it's not executable files,just any other kind,.pdf odt. etc...

are the files on a linux system?
check under permissions just in case, make sure it's not checked.

musex
April 28th, 2010, 02:31 PM
I opened synaptic package manager,I clicked refresh and then I searched for pcmanfm
but the version I find it's still the same that I installed.