PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Windows files with out emulators

Liliitha
April 28th, 2010, 03:32 AM
Is it possible to install a program originally meant for Windows without having to go through WINE to do so? Some of these programs have no Linux support but I wonder if there is still a way to install these programs on Linux, even if it is more difficult.

eveningsky339
April 28th, 2010, 03:44 AM
I don't think it's possible, hence the very existence of Wine... but I'm no expert on the matter.

eveningsky339
April 28th, 2010, 04:01 AM
Actually, I did some research, and it looks like a project is under way...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Linux_Unified_Kernel

Obviously Ubuntu does not use this kernel, and I cannot in good faith recommend that you attempt to replace the kernel, but this does look promising for future use.

elliotn
April 28th, 2010, 06:17 AM
reading that wiki page and their LUk homepage it sounds interesting.

Bt would this mean viruses and other problems?

xtremesupremacy3
June 27th, 2010, 07:58 PM
I have been testing the Longene (LUK) project with the new 10.04 support. Unfortunately I ran into considerable problems with my NVidia card and wireless card too, which I wasn't able to solve, I'm still waiting to hear from their support.

The idea is good, basically what it does is that currently, wine translates windows signals into linux ones...kinda, i wont get too technical. But this project allows it to work on a kernel level. This would mean better support for hardware generally accepted only for on Windows. Personally I don't think it would make a world of difference on a software level but I may be wrong.