PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Please Help the Dumb X.x

Iviesaur
April 28th, 2010, 01:41 AM
Hi i'm new to everything really. My friend showed me Linux and i love it. I have the Ubuntu Remix on my netbook. Now i'm trying to download 9.10 for my pc. Its a compaq and i seriously don't know whats up. My friend burned the cd said it was made right. Then i went into my BIOS made CDR the top thing for the boot order and nothing. I can't get the install screen to even show up. Then my second attempt was to make a bootable flash drive. I made one using my netbook. It said it was made perfect. I placed it into my computer, went into the BIOS made removable thing the top prioriety in the BIOS and still no download screen. I have no idea what to do. Any help would be most greatly appreciated. Thank you. Sorry if some of that makes no sense.

Also i used WUBI to install 9.10 i now realize that caused me to install Ubuntu along side Windows XP. Is there a way to get rid of windows while keeping my Ubuntu cause that'd be awesome. My friend said to try a partitioner. But since i installed using windows wouldn't that mean that my version of Ubuntu is installed on the same partitioner as windows.

Iviesaur
April 28th, 2010, 01:47 AM
Now i wait and hopefully some super awesome people help me out :D:guitar:

Iviesaur
April 28th, 2010, 01:55 AM
now time to bump i guess :D

inputpower
April 28th, 2010, 02:00 AM