PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] New and Frustrated with update

rd-350
April 27th, 2010, 08:02 PM
hi i am new to ubutu and linux. i just got my ubuntu and cd last month and finally decided to install it on my 2nd pc.
my config is as follows
amd athlon xp 2000+
Ram:1.5gb

now my problem and the reason why i am really frustrated is as follows.
I have tried installing and then updating my ubuntu 9.10 11 times.
Thats right ELEVEN TIMES and each time i try to update the OS the comp keeps getting f****d up.There is no problem during installation only the update is a MAJOR problem.
Let me summarize what all i have tried till now.

the 1st time installed it via the cd all was smooth till this update manager pops up after i restart my comp after install.i am like yeah this is just like windows and go ahead with the upgrade.after downloading during install no errors. i restart the comp as advised.during boot up the os hangs on the white ubuntu sign and my caps and scroll lock start blinking.i restart the comp thinking might be some error and this time i get a kernel load error. have to reinstall

then i reinstall again no problems this time i look around the net a bit and find that people say update via terminal is better so i go ahead with that again download all updates installed them no problems. the moment i restart grub throws up this screen with 4 modes ubuntu ,ubuntu (recover) memtest,memtest (recovery)
i choose the 1st option wham again some ****** critical kernel error.

ok at this point i was really pissed so i see the ubuntu site for solutiosn during which
my eyes fall upon 10.04 RC and i am like ok must be the updated version so should not have all those update problems i download the .iso and run the cd wham some ****** critical error the installation doesnt even start...i have noticed quite a few people have got this problem.