PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Python IDE, etc

HHx66
April 26th, 2010, 06:51 PM
I've recently taking an interest in learning to program in Python, I'm relatively new to programming, though not entirely a beginner (I have some experience in basic, pascal, and various scripting languages) I have a book and some other resources, but I was wondering if anyone knows of a good development enviroment for Python? Also, what compiler should I use, etc? Basically some intro level stuff and forgive the newbiness, I'm just getting into this and starting to read it, I'm dedicated to learning it, I just need a few more pointers and some help. Thanks all.

sheperson
April 26th, 2010, 07:19 PM
I've recently taking an interest in learning to program in Python, I'm relatively new to programming, though not entirely a beginner (I have some experience in basic, pascal, and various scripting languages) I have a book and some other resources, but I was wondering if anyone knows of a good development enviroment for Python? Also, what compiler should I use, etc? Basically some intro level stuff and forgive the newbiness, I'm just getting into this and starting to read it, I'm dedicated to learning it, I just need a few more pointers and some help. Thanks all.

I think you could use PyDev with Eclipse and you should use the Python interpreter which comes with Ubuntu.
You can find info on how to install PyDev here:
http://pydev.org/

raydeen
April 26th, 2010, 07:59 PM