PDA

View Full Version : Learning Python...

KdotJ
April 25th, 2010, 12:29 AM
I'm sorry to post this thread as I know there are so many threads about "which language shall I learn?" or "Which is the best language" blah blah blah...
However, I just want your opinions on my question...

I have been programming for a bout 2 years or so, I learnt some very simple Visual Basic and then went on to get more involved in C#.
I started university last September and there they used Java, so I translated my skills from C# to Java as the syntax is not too dissimilar to that of C# and of course they are both Object-Oriented. On the side of this, I'm slowly doing now bits and pieces in C++, but right now my stongest language is Java by far.

Since starting to use Linux/Ubuntu I see a very large usage of Python.

I just wanted to know, is it worth me learning this? or at least having a basic stab at it? Or would you guys just suggest I continue with Java and the C++?

What is the advantages of Python in a Linux environment over languages such as Java and C++?

Thanks in advance for any input and opinions.

MCVenom
April 25th, 2010, 12:41 AM
I can't tell you why exactly it's so widespread in use on Linux, but it's a great language and definitely one you should learn. It's great for almost anything in general applications programming. Its one drawback is that it doesn't perform as well as C# or Java.

As for C#, Java and C++; all of those languages are good to know too (well I'm not sure about Java :p), you can use MonoDevelop for C#, and I'm sure someone here can suggest and IDE for C++ if you don't already have one. I'd suggest Eclipse for Java.

phrostbyte
April 25th, 2010, 12:49 AM
IMO Python is growing in popularity at a rapid rate, and it's not just in the Ubuntu/Linux world. Django is becoming pretty popular as a MVC web framework thanks in part to some endorsements by Google.