PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] No dual-boot screen available

PyroFX
April 24th, 2010, 05:28 PM
I am completely new to Ubuntu and recently installed Ubuntu 9.10 using the live CD. I allowed the set-up to install Ubuntu next to Windows XP and to let me choose which OS boots at start-up. Upon restarting my computer after installation, however, there is no boot-screen and my computer goes straight to WinXP.

I have done some reading and it seems like I need to install GRUB, but I'm really not sure if this is really the case or if I am missing something else entirely.

ingramproductions
April 24th, 2010, 05:38 PM
Add xp to the grub boot menu (grub is already installed, and it should have added xp automatically). It's in the /boot folder. I think it's called list.menu or boot.menu or something like that.

plus2plus
April 24th, 2010, 05:59 PM
I figured it out! It was my hard drive boot priority in my bios. It had my raid array with windows Vista as first boot device so I switched it to my single HD that I installed XP on first. Now it loads the dual boot menu for XP and Vista without needing a windows system CD in the drive. Kudos to Rick P. aka raph on the howtogeek forums for pointing me in the right direction. Hopefully if nothing else this thread will help others having the same problem with their gaming rigs. :confused:

PyroFX
April 24th, 2010, 09:57 PM
Add xp to the grub boot menu (grub is already installed, and it should have added xp automatically). It's in the /boot folder. I think it's called list.menu or boot.menu or something like that.

Well, I found /boot/grub, but the only thing in it is "grubenv" which is a text file saying "# GRUB Environment Block" followed by a long line of more pound symbols

PyroFX
April 24th, 2010, 10:31 PM