PDA

View Full Version : Which Linux distro would you recommend to an absolute NOOB

plurworldinc
April 23rd, 2010, 03:41 AM
For the past year I have been promoting Linux to all of my friends and family and basically anyone that would listen to me. Since I use Ubuntu on all of my computer it only seemed natural to recommend Ubuntu to all of my friends. But then i had a slight change of heart because I had to come to the understanding that a lot of my friends I wanted to convert were not computer savy but just people that wanted a system that worked right out of the box. So now I find myself recommending Linux Mint and Ultimate edition to my friends depending on there level of skill with a computer. I still highly recommend Ubuntu for those people that want to customize there systems from the ground up. But I do wonder, what would you recommend as a good distro for a noob that has ever touched of heard of Linux before.):P

carl4926
April 23rd, 2010, 03:50 AM
This has been asked before.
I expect this thread may get moved by the Mods
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1459107

http://ubuntuforums.org/forumdisplay.php?f=302

Kingsley
April 23rd, 2010, 03:53 AM
Ubuntu.

carl4926
April 23rd, 2010, 03:55 AM
What the heck.....Mint

akand074
April 23rd, 2010, 04:07 AM
Ubuntu is the way to go. It works the best out of the box, easiest to use, and largest community for help.

JamezQ
April 23rd, 2010, 04:09 AM
Try mint and ubuntu ?

kaldor
April 23rd, 2010, 04:17 AM
Ubuntu's perfectly easy to use. If people aren't computer savvy enough to learn to click on the Applications menu instead of a start menu, I'd give up. =p

Mint's more convenient as an out of the box setup. Ubuntu can do just as much as Mint by just installing restricted extras etc. Nothing special. Mint is more of its own distro, but it still is an Ubuntu rebuild with some added features.

I'll say go for Lucid when it comes out. The music store, software centre, etc.

Khakilang
April 23rd, 2010, 04:40 AM