PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How To Host a Website with 9.10

ModderXstatic
April 21st, 2010, 12:55 AM
Hello Everyone! I have recently dumped Windows are picked up Ubuntu 9.10 Server Edition to host my personal business website. Now, I'm not going to beat around the barn, I am a total NOOB with this OS, and I am not used to typing all the commands, I am very well used to being a "click kitty." Can someone please give me some tips on how to host my website with this platform? Any help at all would be great! I need help with everything, as far as Networking, and setting up the website files on the server, along with aiming the registered domain name to those files. Again, any help would be great! Oh, and one more thing, I need to know how to host more than one site on this server, so if someone could also let me know how to set up those files on the server.
:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused: :confused::confused:

Thanks In Advance!

Team_ModderXstatic

sandyd
April 21st, 2010, 01:10 AM
Hello Everyone! I have recently dumped Windows are picked up Ubuntu 9.10 Server Edition to host my personal business website. Now, I'm not going to beat around the barn, I am a total NOOB with this OS, and I am not used to typing all the commands, I am very well used to being a "click kitty." Can someone please give me some tips on how to host my website with this platform? Any help at all would be great! I need help with everything, as far as Networking, and setting up the website files on the server, along with aiming the registered domain name to those files. Again, any help would be great! Oh, and one more thing, I need to know how to host more than one site on this server, so if someone could also let me know how to set up those files on the server.
:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused: :confused::confused:

Thanks In Advance!

Team_ModderXstatic
login and type this in.

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install apache2 bind9