PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Seperate /home Partition (advanced)

phibit
April 20th, 2010, 04:24 PM
This is a question about setting up a separate /home directory, but I will preface it by explaining my current setup.

2x500GB RAID1 (mirror) : Ubuntu Karmic install and /home directory
1x200GB spare drive : empty

In upgrading to Lucid (which I am looking forward to), I would like to change my setup to be like this:

2x500GB RAID1 (mirror) : /home directory ONLY
1x200GB drive : / directory for Ubuntu installs and upgrades

My main concern is preserving my /home directory, and all the data inside. The approach I was thinking of is straightforward, but I'm not experienced enough to tell if it will work:

1. Boot into LiveCD, perform a standard Ubuntu Lucid install on the 200GB drive
2. Point the new install to my old /home directory on the RAID drives
3. Boot into my new installation on the 200GB, and delete everything on the RAID array except the /home directory (i.e. get rid of /var /opt /etc/.... Can you do that?)

Are there any concerns I am overlooking? I suspect that the installation process won't properly recognize the RAID array, and I don't want to much this up.

If you guys have any suggestions they'd be much appreciated. Thanks!

dabl
April 20th, 2010, 06:40 PM
It's not clear from your description whether your current /home directory is on its own drive partition, or is embedded with the rest of the filesystem on a single partition.

Regardless, this part of your plan should work:

1. Boot into LiveCD, perform a standard Ubuntu Lucid install on the 200GB drive

This part will not work if your current /home directory is on the same partition with the rest of your Linux filesystem:

2. Point the new install to my old /home directory on the RAID drives
3. Boot into my new installation on the 200GB, and delete everything on the RAID array except the /home directory (i.e. get rid of /var /opt /etc/.... Can you do that?)