PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Switch from 64-bit to 32-bit

Foxtrots
April 20th, 2010, 03:54 AM
Is this possible, I'm a noob, 1 day user. I already have the 32 Bit LIVE Cd Burned. I want to install using the same partition my 64-bit is installed on. Could someone give me steps please. Thanks

Slim Odds
April 20th, 2010, 04:25 AM
Is this possible, I'm a noob, 1 day user. I already have the 32 Bit LIVE Cd Burned. I want to install using the same partition my 64-bit is installed on. Could someone give me steps please. Thanks

You can't "switch". You can reinstall. I'd download the 64 bit if I was you.

Are there any details that you're leaving out that we should know?

Water_Spirit
April 20th, 2010, 06:47 AM

Can you give some more detail on what you are trying to do ie; what is the existing 64 bit.

Foxtrots
April 20th, 2010, 11:57 AM
I have 9.10 64-bit installed. I'm trying to reinstall 32-bit. I want to install using the partition I already have 64-bit installed on.

P4man
April 20th, 2010, 12:02 PM
Why would you go back to 32 bit?
Anyway, unless you created a seperate /home partition, then your only option is a complete reinstall, so back up all your data. Boot from the CD, and then you can install using the same partitions by selecting the advanced partition setup during installation, and selecting the same partition as your new "/" (root). You will lose anything on it.

Cabs21
April 20th, 2010, 12:23 PM

64-bit machines can use 32-bit software but 32-bit machines can not use 64-bit software. That being said. Put the install LIVE CD in the drive, and follow the step by step install procedure for the simplest install. If you want more complex install follow the guides on the web site.

Foxtrots
April 20th, 2010, 08:24 PM
I can't get my wireless to work on 64-bit and I read somewhere that it might work on 32-bit. I'm going to try that when I arrive home P4man.

P4man
April 20th, 2010, 08:36 PM