PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] install new driver

roundhead
April 20th, 2010, 02:11 AM
I have been searching off and on for weeks. I am using 9.10 Karma and have the broadcom b43 card. when I go to the Hardware Drivers, it shows the Broadcom STA wireless driver is activated and currently in use. BUT under the wireless network driver tab (System, Admin, Windows wireless drivers) there is nothing showing up. Everyone says to look for the Network Admin icon on the top right screen but there is nothing there. there is no wireless icon. there used to be, but it never worked. I have tried downloading the driver and I have extracted it. but I dont know how to install it. Or is it already installed. I am new to Linux and have really tried to find a solution...no avail. thanks so much for any suggestions

bkratz
April 20th, 2010, 02:21 AM
I have been searching off and on for weeks. I am using 9.10 Karma and have the broadcom b43 card. when I go to the Hardware Drivers, it shows the Broadcom STA wireless driver is activated and currently in use. BUT under the wireless network driver tab (System, Admin, Windows wireless drivers) there is nothing showing up. Everyone says to look for the Network Admin icon on the top right screen but there is nothing there. there is no wireless icon. there used to be, but it never worked. I have tried downloading the driver and I have extracted it. but I dont know how to install it. Or is it already installed. I am new to Linux and have really tried to find a solution...no avail. thanks so much for any suggestions

First I think we need to determine which wireless card you have so we know whether b43 or sta is appropriate.
Go to the termina (Application>>Accessories>>Terminal) and enter in

lspci | grep Network

that is LSPCI in lowercase N in upper, and copy/paste the output back here or simply report back it should be BCM43xx xx is what we need to know.

roundhead
April 20th, 2010, 02:50 AM
BCM 4312 802.11a/b/g