PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem installing ubuntu in my laptop

ace_ventura
April 19th, 2010, 05:39 PM
hello guys. i am very 1st time user of Linux, installed ubuntu in my desktop, working fine. now i tried to install ubuntu in my Asus laptop to dual boot along with windows 7, but couldnt go further. installed it, then it asks to reboot. when it reboots, i select ubuntu from boot menu, it says finishing installation, but after that, blank screen. i tried every other options pressing esc, but same story, blank screen. as i am completely new to Linux, i am lost. what am i doing wrong?
the laptop is Asus K52F which has intel onboard graphics Intel Graphics Media Accelerator HD. is this causing the problem?
i desperately need help.

ace_ventura
April 20th, 2010, 04:02 AM
no help yet? i tried every possible thing given in this forum but no solution yet. my desktop is running fine, but my problem is with the laptop.
thnx.

nexes128
April 20th, 2010, 04:08 AM
Can you boot into recovery mode?

2hot6ft2
April 20th, 2010, 04:33 AM
i tried to install ubuntu in my Asus laptop to dual boot along with windows 7, but couldnt go further. installed it, then it asks to reboot. when it reboots, i select ubuntu from boot menu, it says finishing installation.
That doesn't sound right at all.
Did the installation fail or complete before the reboot?
It should not say finishing the install after the reboot.
I would say a re-installation was in order.

tommcd
April 20th, 2010, 03:05 PM
... when it reboots, i select ubuntu from boot menu, it says finishing installation, but after that, blank screen. ...
Yes, as 2hot6ft2 said, there is definitely something wrong there. When you reboot after the install it should just reboot into your newly installed Ubuntu desktop.
(There are some linux distros that go through some post install configuration after you first reboot, but Ubuntu is not one of them).